The news…

The news shook me. I was stunned. I was too broken up for words. I didn’t know what to say. I wasn’t expecting this to happen. I wasn’t prepared for it… yet somehow I felt I was.

The other day my wife had to break the news to me. My parents called her earlier in the day to tell her what happened but didn’t want me to find out over the phone. They wanted her to tell me in person. As she told me what happened, my heart sunk. I was literally shocked at what she told me. Yet, in the strangest way I felt comfort.

I called up my parents to discuss what happened and what is next. I couldn’t bring myself to tears. I felt like God had lead me into this storm. I don’t get why health issues keep happening to this precious life, but they do. as they told me the events of the day, I just took it in.

By now you may be wondering who this special someone is to me. You may have already figured it out but it is my dog that I left in Texas with my parents. You may say well it is just a dog. And I can understand that, but the only thing I have to respond is God has blessed me with a huge heart for animals, especially dogs. I grow way too attached to them and they become so special to me. Some will understand how they become a part of our family and some will not. my point is not to discuss that but to discuss God’s provision.

The news that day came. They had to take her to the optomologist who was by the grace of God taking appointments that day. As he examined her, he found that her right eye had too much pressure around it. it was causing severe pain. In fact, she had lost sight in it. it was time for a decision, they could keep running tests or remove the eye and hopefully any other pains that go with it. On a day that an appointment opened up and on a day when there was time for emergency surgery, the eye had to be removed…

It was supposed to be just an infection…this wasn’t supposed to happen…the medicine was supposed to work.

What do we do now? As I heard all of this, I can only say that God was with me. And I know that His hand was at work this day. The fact that they were able to take her in and see the doctor on the only day he does surgery, was a miracle. My dog, my girl was now fighting for her life.

The word that I hate more than anything came up again. The word none of us like to hear or want to hear. Cancer. The doctor sent the eye off to see if it was cancerous.

I have seen this movie too many times before. I have seen this and hate the way it ends. I never want to watch it again.

My only course of action was prayer. What an honor to go before the Almighty, the Giver and Sustainer of life, the Healer and ask for a miracle. I can’t go to any CEO or leader in this world, but I can go to the King of Kings and Lord of Lords any time. So with tears pouring out and snot filling my nose, I threw myself at His feet. I had only one hope and that was the only hope I needed. God is the only hope I will ever need.

A few days past and as I prayed and prayed and struggled with trying to make God answer my prayers but saying certain words or rituals, I was reminded I can’t make God do anything and His ways are perfect and mine are not. Then, I started to feel something. My ears were hearing things, my heart began feeling something. Something was about to happen.

I was in Kansas City with my wife and as we drove around the city on Friday, every song on the radio was about pain and how God can move mountains. It was a call to faith. Unfortunately, my nature was allowing worry and fear to come in. God shook me and reminded me to not let it in. to give Him my anxieties and worries. To truly practice Philippians 4:6-7 (Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.). The moment I felt victory, satan came harder and attacked more.

Right after we got back from our trip, my parents called. I kept worrying and wondering why they haven’t called. I wanted to know the results. We finally had them. But at the same time, I didn’t want to know what the results were. I didn’t want to hear it. Then the phone rang.

The results came back positive for cancer. The lab sent the eye off to another lab to see if the cancer had spread to other areas or if it was contained in the removed eye. Now…we wait again.

No matter what, it will be a tough road. I have hope. I have trust. I still think back to the day when the songs on the radio reminded me that anything is possible with God. I don’t know what is next. I don’t know what will happen. My heart aches. My sadness is heavy. But my God is good no matter what. He has reminded me of what is important and how short this life is. No matter how young, our bodies break down. I simply trust in Jesus.

Her name is Gunda (Goon-duh) and she needs prayer. I pray for a miracle to the One who makes all things possible.

Leave a Reply

